You are here

City profiles are under development - see FAQ: What are City profiles.

San Sebastián - Donostia

San Sebastián (Donostia in Basque, and officially Donostia-San Sebastián) lies in Northern Spain. It is the capital of Guipúzcoa, one of the provinces of the Basque Autonomous Community. It has a population of 185,510 (2010), and the population of the metropolitan area is 436,500.
Although Guipúzcoa has a long-standing industrial tradition, being one of the most industrialised areas in Europe, Donostia-San Sebastián is a city focusing on the tertiary sector of the economy, oriented to knowledge, tourism, commerce, services, and conferences. The people in this city know that progress and welfare can be achieved only if they support science, technology, and sustainable development. Over the past few years, Donostia-San Sebastián has leaned on innovation and knowledge, arts and culture. Moreover, international events such as the San Sebastián International Film Festival have put the city on the map. San Sebastian has been chosen as the European Capital of Culture 2016.

City Information

Area size in km2: 
City morphology: 
Predominantly hilly
1000 – 100 000
Population range: 
100 000 – 1 000 000
Density on /km2: 
3 007.86
183 308.00
43.318334, -1.981231
Covenant of Mayors: